STAR CHAMPIONSHIP 1931

In 1931 the Star Championship was still a Southern League riders event. Northern League riders were not eligible. Riders qualified for the Wembley final by winning their own track's qualifying round. A vote among each track's supporters decided the second representative.

Qualifiers	** Norman Kendrick repla		Winner Les Patrick Harry Shepherd Syd Edmonds Squib Burton* Fred Strecker Ernie Rickman Frank Arthur Col Stewart Tommy Croombs Vic Huxley d the injured Squib Burton. aced the injured Billy Ellmore. nomination but he was replace		Nominee Syd Jackson *** Ron Johnson Phil Bishop Charlie Spinks Billy Ellmore ** Jack Parker Arthur Warwick Colin Watson Bluey Wilkinson Ray Tauser	
Final	Wembley Stadium Friday 18/09/1931					
	Heat 1 2 3 4 5	1st Watson J Parker Warwick Croombs Arthur	2nd Tauser Rickman (Hastings F) Huxley Spinks	3rd Shepherd Tims (Wilkinson E) Strecker (Patrick R)	4th P Bishop Stewart (Edmonds F) Kendrick (Johnson R)	<u>Time</u> 81.6 81.6 86.8 80.6 81.0
	Semi-final 1 2 3	Huxley Tauser J Parker	Rickman Arthur Croombs nt through as fa	Watson Warwick Shepherd astest second	Tims 3 riders only Spinks	80.6 80.6 79.8
	Final	Tauser	Huxley	Croombs	(J Parker R)	80.2

Final Jack Parker tried to squeeze under Tauser in a tight first bend scramble. Tauser shut the gap and Parker rode on to the grass rather than hit him. Parker had crossed the white line and retired.