National Trophy 1931

First Round (Southern League Teams Only)

Wembley, Crystal Palace, and Harringay Byes

West Ham 51 - Southampton 45; Southampton 42 - West Ham 49. West Ham won 100 - 87

Wimbledon 67 – Hall Green (Birmingham) 26; Hall Green 49.5 – Wimbledon 42.5 Wimbledon won 116.5 – 68.5

Stamford Bridge 59 Leicester Stadium 35; Leicester 39.5 – Stamford Bridge 54.5 (raced at Leicester Super) Stamford Bridge won 113.5 – 74.5

High Beech 61 - Exeter 33; Exeter 34 High Beech 59. High Beech won 120 - 67

Lea Bridge 59 Nottingham 33; Nottingham 46 Lea Bridge 47 Lea Bridge won 106 – 79

Second Round

Wembley 56 - West Ham 37; West Ham 44 – Wembley 52 Wembley won 108 – 81

Wimbledon 60 - Crystal Palace 36; Crystal Palace 48 - Wimbledon 48 Wimbledon won 108 - 84

Stamford Bridge v Harringay Walkover win by Stamford Bridge as Harringay withdrew

High Beech 55 - Lea Bridge 39; Lea Bridge 52 - High Beech 38 High Beech won 93 - 91

Sheffield 54 - Leeds 40; Leeds 39 - Sheffield 52 Sheffield won 106 - 70

Belle Vue 54 - Wombwell 22; Wombwell 27 - Belle Vue 64 Belle Vue won 137 - 49

Leicester Super 69 - York 22; York 42 Leicester Super 53 Leicester Super won 122 - 68

Prston 70 - Glasgow White City 26; Glasgow White City 43 - Preston 52 Preston won 122 - 69

Third Round

Wembley 70 – Sheffield 25; Sheffield 41 - Wembley 55 Wembley won 125 – 66

Wimbledon 55 - Belle Vue 41; Belle Vue 50 - Wimbledon 46 Wimbledon won 101 - 91

Stamford Bridge 61 – Leicester Super 31; Leicester Super 44 – Stamford Bridge 50 Stamford Bridge won 111 – 75

Preston 65 High Beech 31; High Beech 48 – Preston 42 Preston won 107 – 79

Semi Finals

Wembley 48 – Wimbledon 47 (after appeal); Wimbledon 46 - Wembley 49 Wembley won 97 - 93

Stamford Bridge 66 – Preston 30; Preston 43 - Stamford Bridge 51 Stamford Bridge won 117 – 73

Final

Wembley 71 Stamford Bridge 24; Stamford Bridge 45 - Wembley 49 Wembley won 120 - 69

Wembley National Trophy Squad (in percentage order): Colin Watson, Jack Ormston, George Greenwood, Harry Whitfield, Lionel Van Praag, Norman Evans, Buster Frogley, Wally Kilmister, Colin Stewart, Charlie Shelton, Jack Jackson.

12 Source: Mike Terran 13